Pallavi’s Reconciliation Week Writing Challenge.

Never Was, Always Will Be

It’s finally the big day. I am the first Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander person to get to vote in the ballot. I’m so happy that my family, friends and I get to have a say after such a long time. There has been such a big change in our society now everyone is diverse because of our ever-changing government. This is closing the gap between Indigenous and Non-Indigenous people.

My family and I are so happy we are trying to calm down before we leave to vote. My brother Tom shouts out, “Hip Hip Horayyy!” Mum gets everyone into the car to go to Parliament. I get to do the honours for my Indigenous people. Our votes will count this time.

We have finally reached Parliament. Mum gets me set up and fixes my tie. Oh no! Max is here with a slushy. I’ll tell you why it’s a bad thing. One day I was playing peacefully and Max, my classmate, comes along with a slushy and purposely spills it all over me.

See why I am afraid of him. Max is a BIG, TERRIFING, MEAN BULLY. All he does all day is ruin peoples effort and time. Why… Why … Why is this happening to me right now? Max is jealous I can tell from his scrunched up face. He comes up to me looking pretty angry with that purple, red slushy. ‘SPLAT ’. That slushy is all over my no longer white shirt. I tell mum we need to get home right away and meanwhile I told dad to hold off the election.

I jump into the car, and tell mum to drive full speed ahead! Did mum listen to me? NO! Why? It’s because she always has to drive the perfect speed on the road. We finally reach home and I quickly rush off to change my shirt. Meanwhile there was a call from the Press Adviser of the Prime Minster asking where I am. WH … WH… WHAT A PHONE CALL FROM THE PRESS ADVISOR ASKING WHERE I AM. It’s nobody else the prime minister is looking for it’s me she’s looking for. OH DARN! I’M IN TROUBLE!

I quickly take my shirt off so mum can wash it right away. I check my wardrobe to find a white shirt. I’m lucky I found one of my white sophisticated shirts. In a flash of a light we are back in the car all ready to go back to Parliament. Again, I told mum to go full speed ahead, did she listen? Yesss! Finally mum will rush to get our vote. I’m just sitting down and enjoying the ride.

I get there and there’s a red carpet so I can walk up to vote. Before I can have my vote the Prime Minister Pallavi Kamoda gives a few words. I get introduced. It’s time. I take my vote. This is just the beginning of a new chapter.